PLAB Exam Eligibility, Dates, Syllabus 2023

PLAB Exam Eligibility

PLAB Exam Eligibility, Dates, Syllabus: PLAB is an acronym for Professional and Linguistic Assessment Board. The PLAB exam is conducted to get you to practice medicine in the United Kingdom. The exam is quite arduous and it requires English proficiency and medical knowledge. Read the article in detail for information on PLAB exam eligibility and the syllabus of the PLAB exam.

Before jumping onto PLAB Exam Eligibility, dates and syllabus for 2023 it is essential to know about the nature of the exam and its difficulty level. So let’s begin with it.

What is PLAB Exam?

PLAB Exam is an assessment exam that overseas doctors need to pass in order to practice medicine in the United Kingdom (UK). The PLAB exam is conducted by the General Medical Council (GMC), which is the regulatory body for medical professionals in the UK. The PLAB exam consists of two parts:

PLAB Part 1

  • PLAB 1 is a computer-based test that assesses a candidate’s medical knowledge and clinical application.
  • The PLAB part 1 is a written exam made up of 180 multiple choice questions which you must answer within three hours.
  • Each starts with a short scenario followed by a question. The question in this part is multiple-choice questions that provide 5 options to choose from. You can sit part 1 in a number of countries, as well as in the UK.
  • Students are advised to have a look at the available locations and dates when they login to GMC Online.

Also Read: How to Prepare for NExT exam?

PLAB Part 2

  • PLAB 2 evaluates a candidate’s clinical skills, communication, and ability to make appropriate clinical decisions.
  • This part consists of objective questions.
  • It’s made up of 16 scenarios, each lasting eight minutes and aims to reflect real-life settings including a mock consultation or an acute ward.
  • Part 2 tests run throughout the year at GMC clinical assessment centre.

PLAB Exam Eligibility

Students must go through PLAB Exam Eligibility criteria before applying for the exam.

Medical degree: Medical graduates must possess a degree that is accepted for limited registration by a university that is featured in the World Health Organization Directory of Medical Schools.

Exam: Students must have undertaken the IELTS exam with a minimum score of 7 in total. Along with 7.0 for each of the four language modules.

Educational Qualification: Applicants must have finished a minimum of a year of postgraduate clinical practice at a teaching hospital. Your medical degree must be listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools.

PLAB Exam Syllabus

The PLAB (Professional and Linguistic Assessments Board) exam syllabus is designed to assess the knowledge, skills, and clinical competence of international medical graduates seeking to practice medicine in the United Kingdom.

PLAB Exam Syllabus Part 1

PLAB 1 assesses candidates’ theoretical knowledge and understanding of basic medical sciences, clinical medicine, and ethics. It covers a wide range of topics, including anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, pathology, microbiology, and common medical conditions.

Blood and LymphBreast   
Child HealthGenitourinary
Child HealthCardiovascular
Muscul skeletalHomeostatic
Infectious diseasesNeurological
PharmacologicalMental Health
UrologicalSeriously ill patients
PLAB Exam Syllabus Part 1

PLAB Exam Syllabus Part 2

PLAB 2 evaluates candidates’ practical clinical skills, communication abilities, and professionalism in a clinical setting. This part of the exam involves objective structured clinical examinations (OSCEs) where candidates are required to interact with simulated patients, diagnose medical conditions, and demonstrate their clinical management skills.  

PLAB 1 Exam Dates 2023-24

PLAB Exam dateOverseas closing dateUK closing date
25 May 202313 April 202311 May 2023
10 August 202329 June 202327 July 2023
2 November 202321 September 202319 October 2023
15 February 2024 4 January 2024 1 February 2024
23 May 2024 11 April 2024 9 May 2024
PLAB 1 Exam Dates 2023-24

PLAB Exam Centres

The General Medical Council (GMC) is responsible for organizing the PLAB exam and provides information about the available exam centres on its official website. PLAB Part 1 examinations are held in the following Indian states:

  • Chennai
  • Bangalore 
  • Hyderabad
  • Mumbai
  • Kolkata 
  • New Delhi

The PLAB 2 can only be taken on Manchester, United Kingdom.

Also Read: USMLE Everything You Need To Know

Validity of PLAB Score

According to the GMC, the validity of PLAB scores depends on the time of examination taken. For Part 1 the validity is 3 years and for part 2, the validity is 2 years.

PLAB 1: Valid for 3 years

PLAB 2: Valid for 2 years

If a candidate has passed PLAB 1 but has not taken PLAB 2, they have 3 years from the date of passing PLAB 1 to take and pass PLAB 2. If a candidate has passed both PLAB 1 and PLAB 2, their scores are valid for 2 years from the date of passing PLAB 2. In case you cleared PLAB part 2 over two years ago, you will be required to take the exam again.

What after Passing PLAB 1 and PLAB 2

As the PLAB exam is an assessment exam that is taken by international students to qualify for practising medicine in the UK, the medical graduates who pass both parts of the PLAB exam are eligible to apply for registration with the GMC.

Once the application is approved, students can proceed to work as doctors in the UK, subject to fulfilling other necessary requirements such as English language proficiency.

Number of Attempts in PLAB Exam

The Professional and Linguistic Assessments Board examination is a very competitive test, and there is a defined limit to the number of times an individual can sit for each part of the exam.

  • Students may retake the PLAB Part 1 and PLAB Part 2 exams four times.
  • If the candidate passed the part 1 test when it was still valid, they are allowed four tries at the part 2 OSCE.

It’s essential to keep in mind that each attempt comes with its own set of fees, and you must meet the eligibility criteria for the exam every time you apply.         


Which countries accept PLAB exam score?

PLAB exam is accepted in the following countries:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Canada
  • Dubai
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Qatar
  • United Kingdom
  • Saudi Arabia
What is the validity of PLAB exam score?

PLAB exam part 1 score is valid for 3 years and PlAB exam Part 2 score is valid for 3 years.

Which countries are included for PLAB Exam? 

PLAB exam is conducted in India, Egypt, Bulgaria, Dubai, Nigeria, and Pakistan.

Also Read: PLAB -Everything you need to know

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *